

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 12/15/2020 CCAO Contact: Andrew Johnson, 614-400-6769, ajohnson@ccao.org CEAO Contact: Amy Lowe, 614-221-0707, alowe@ceao.org

County Associations Announce Election of 2021 Presidents and Officers

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO) and the County Engineers Association of Ohio (CEAO) announce the election of their 2021 presidents, Licking County Commissioner Tim Bubb and Coshocton County Engineer Frederick Wachtel. State Sen. Jay Hottinger performed the swearing-in ceremony, which took place during the virtual CCAO/CEAO Winter Conference on Dec. 9-11. The ceremony can be viewed <u>here</u>.

"Being selected to lead CCAO in 2021 is the highlight of my career as an elected county official. There are many challenges ahead in 2021 but also great opportunities for success," Bubb said. "Heading into the year, CCAO will work with Gov. Mike DeWine and the legislature to encourage support of the CCAO platform that includes increased support of indigent defense reimbursement to counties. Of course, we have the overarching challenge, in conjunction with the state government and health authorities, of helping Ohio emerge from COVID-19 and hopefully support a successful mass vaccination program as well as economic development and survival of our small businesses."

Wachtel in his inauguration speech also conveyed the challenges the upcoming year will bring.

"With so much uncertainty still ahead, setting grand plans and lofty goals for 2021 is difficult at best; however, there are a few things we all can work toward this year," Wachtel said during his inauguration acceptance speech. "We must do all we can to stay safe during this public health emergency. We must keep our employees safe, be more patient, flexible, adaptable, and compassionate and do the right thing for the right reason."

Joining Wachtel as CEAO officers are 1st Vice President Keith A. Bennett, Stark County engineer; 2nd Vice President Brett A. Boothe, Gallia County engineer; Treasurer James A. Wiechart, Mercer County engineer; and Immediate Past President Jeff Stauch, Union County engineer.

Serving alongside Bubb as CCAO officers are 1st Vice President Debbie Lieberman, Montgomery County commissioner; 2nd Vice President Tom Whiston, Morrow County commissioner, Secretary Armond Budish, Cuyahoga County executive and Treasurer Glenn Miller, Henry County commissioner.

###