Featured Articles


Ohio GIS Conference Registration and Scholarship Information

Ohio GIS Conference Registration and Scholarship Information

College Scholarship Now Available for Ohio Geography or Engineering Student 

Woolpert is pleased to announce that they have established the Cliff Lovin Scholarship for geography or engineering students attending school in the State of Ohio. The intent of the scholarship is to support the geospatial industry by helping students interested in careers related to the field.

The scholarship will be awarded to an undergraduate student with a major in geography or engineering who is currently enrolled at a university located in Ohio. The scholarship will be paid directly to the student’s university. Applications and an official transcript (or copy of an official transcript) should be submitted by September 1, 2021; review and selection will be made by the Cliff Lovin Scholarship Committee.

Completed applications and copies of transcripts should be sent to the Cliff Lovin Scholarship Committee c/o CEAO, 6500 Busch Blvd., Suite 100, Columbus, Ohio, by September 1, 2021.  The winning student will be announced at the 2021 Ohio GIS Conference™ which is being held in person at the Hyatt Regency Columbus on September 15-17, 2021. The scholarship winner is encouraged to attend the awards session on September 17th.

2021 Cliff Lovin Scholarship Information

2021 Cliff Lovin Scholarship Application (download word doc)

2021 Cliff Lovin Scholarship Application (,pdf)



2021 Ohio GIS Conference™

September 15-17, 2021 (Wednesday-Friday)

Hyatt Regency Columbus – Columbus, Ohio

The 2021 Ohio GIS Conference™ is an opportunity for you to share your experience with hundreds of Ohio’s most knowledgeable GIS professionals, decision-makers, and technicians, all of whom are waiting to hear what you have to say.

Past presentation topics have covered subjects ranging from Mobile Mapping, Open Source Technology, and Transportation to Health and Safety, Property Appraisal, Economic Development, and Spatial Modeling techniques. 

Take advantage of this opportunity to attend the largest gathering of Federal, State, Local, and Private Industry GIS Professionals, Developers, and Partners in Ohio.

Click for More Information

Registration is now open!



County Associations Announce Election of 2021 Presidents and Officers

County Associations Announce Election of 2021 Presidents and Officers
The County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO) and the County Engineers Association of Ohio (CEAO) announce the election of their 2021 presidents, Licking County Commissioner Tim Bubb and Coshocton County Engineer Frederick Wachtel. State Sen. Jay Hottinger performed the swearing-in ceremony, which took place during the virtual CCAO/CEAO Winter Conference on Dec. 9-11.
Joining Wachtel as CEAO officers are 1st Vice President Keith A. Bennett, Stark County engineer; 2nd Vice President Brett A. Boothe, Gallia County engineer; Treasurer James A. Wiechart, Mercer County engineer; and Immediate Past President Jeff Stauch, Union County engineer.
Serving alongside Bubb as CCAO officers are 1st Vice President Debbie Lieberman, Montgomery County commissioner; 2nd Vice President Tom Whiston, Morrow County commissioner, Secretary Armond Budish, Cuyahoga County executive and Treasurer Glenn Miller, Henry County commissioner.
Pictured: Fred Wachtel, Coshocton Co Engineer; Dean Ringle, CEAO Executive Director; Tim Bubb, Licking Co Commissioner and Cheryl Subler, CCAO Executive Director.


Permissive License Fee Advisory Bulletin Issued

The County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO) recently released a County Advisory Bulletin on the new (2017) $5 Permissive License Fee. This bulletin gives a background history of all the $5 permissive license fees and gives guidance on a county’s enactment procedure for implementing the new fee.

View Report and Sample Resolution (click on Studies and Reports)